Announcing the return of the Genre Workshops

John Helps You Write Better
2 min readFeb 5, 2023

One Genre per stream, one lengthy lesson to help you write better

Image courtesy the author

One of the things I love to do as part of my job is streaming. I didn’t think I’d always like it. I can’t say I’m 10000% comfortable with every part of it, but I like the fact that I can sit in this chair and talk about things and then all of a sudden it turns into something interesting, fun, and informative.

For a long time, I was doing these kinds of streams every Monday, mainly because Monday was at the time the one night a week where I hadn’t over-scheduled myself and because it seemed like a night where my audience had enough free time to show up.

Over time though, it became harder and harder to develop topics that were broad enough for a stream but not rehashes of things I already covered, since I didn’t want to be the guy who only yaks on and on about three topics forever.

So the streams went away. Monday night became the weeknight where I try and relax. Which is also fine, but me relaxing doesn’t scratch the itch I have to talk about writing into a microphone.

It’s time to bring it back.

This Monday night, February 6 2023, I’m re-launching the Monday Night Streams and because it’s February, let’s talk about how to write a romance novel, or a romance plot, or a romance…

--

--

John Helps You Write Better

Talk to me when you want to be the best writer you can be. Writing coaching and editing all in one place. Always ready to help you succeed.